“Chick”ing In!

It’s almost Easter everyone, and I just wanted to “chick” in with everyone! 🐥 (peep,peep!) I know I’ve been busy with school this year, so my posts have been few and far between. 

First of all, thank you to everyone who came to Keith’s fight, or watched it on my live stream (April 8). It meant a lot to him, even though he was displeased with how the fight went down. We are blessed by the victory and God’s promises for our future, but Keith says he knows he has a lot to work on! 


The process of training and cutting weight for this fight was different than what Keith had previously done. He is used to water loading over a gallon or two each day, cutting calories a day or two in advance and then killing himself with some cardio and a sweat suit. It’s rough, but it works. He has also tried the old “bathtub” method with Epsom salts and alcohol, and then rolling up like a burrito till you sweat. I thought he may have a heart attack! 

We decided, since calories = energy, and excess energy = fat, to cut his calories much sooner and gradually drop the 10+ lbs. 

It worked well. Im not sure how his strength and cardio was overall, but I know he was not so sickly and drained looking from dehydration the day before the fight.

While Keith was meal-prepping like a champ, it gave me some ideas and maybe a little kick in the seat for not doing the same thing. 

School has somewhat obliterated my diet, but I know I can be doing better. It also showed me that he can survive on almost half of what he is used to consuming – it’s a problem that I can barely cut 200 calories from my diet! I have managed my calories in the past, but it was always a struggle, and it all goes back to the “binge” mentality. 

As many of you know, since I was young, I struggled with hiding my eating habits, binging at night, overeating and snacking throughout the day. I’m still in the process of learning more about myself and how this habit occurred, but I will say it was always an outlet for frustration or stress. I would crave something sweet or salty, and then that “out of control” feeling would come.

So I tried following Keith’s method of meal-prepping and planning. I have to say, it helped significantly while He was on it. I’ve found that, like most people, I just need some extra support until the new habits are formed. Typically people with any struggle or disorder state that they do not feel they have the support they need. 

I also have seen a newer product one of my classmates has from six-pack fitness. It is a meal planning backpack that stores your prepped Tupperware (or glassware) in the bottom or side of the bag! This is what I need for school! 😉 

Despite all the work and prep it takes for me to manage my calories efficiently, I know the root of this is within. I can have support from Keith to do right, and still struggle throughout the day. 

So I’ll leave with this thought. The Lord has been speaking to me a LOT about this season I am in of Trust. Trust with school/grades, trust with Keith’s fights, trust with my family relationships, and a lot of trust that He actually wants me to be healthy and knows what is best for me. Trust is largely brought to me through another concept He’s given to me about rest – and resting in His presence. That is where true change occurs. I tried over spring break to do a “fast”, and wouldn’t you know that I ate more that week than I had the week prior! It’s all a mind game, and about the relationship I have with food. During that week, however, I did hear from the Lord. He said He wanted to teach me to EAT, not how to fast yet. So I have to trust that he knows what is best. Despite my efforts to lose weight, I know he wants to redefine my relationship with food first. 

This morning in my devotional, I saw a verse “pop out” to me. It was 1 Corinthians 6:12


Wow, that is truth. Do not be DOMINATED by anything. (I know there could be a whole tangent on alcohol here, but that does not dominate me. Food sometimes does.) I was so encouraged by this verse, I didn’t even realize it was THE WRONG VERSE! my devotion said 1 Corinthians 6:19-20. Also good, but not the same. Wowsers. 

God is with us and FOR us, who or what can be against us? 

In case I don’t stop by this weekend, Happy Easter everyone! 🌤⛪️🐰💐

Jules 

Leave a Reply

